Small CSS Problem with Borders

gplatt2000 21:24 10 Oct 06

Hi all

I'm working on a site for a label printers based near where I live. I'm nearing the end of the job (or feel to be - however I'm sure loads of small irritating problems will still come up, as well as some bigger ones I'm sure!)

The site so far is up at click here

Firstly, I'm new to CSS with this being my first site, so please bear with me!

As I said, it's not finished yet, e.g. forms need completing, other little jobs aswell.

The main thing annoying me at the miinute is that I can't seem to get the bottom border to show up in IE. It works fine in Firefox.

I'm really not sure why this is. I have left, top and right borders for the #wholesite div, and then a bottom border for the #content div (which I left purple to illustrate better), as I thought this would allow for any extra content being added and thus the site growing downwards. If that makes sense.

Again, I'm new to this, so I'm sure I've not gone about this the best way anyway - basically, I want to be able to easily add to the content whilst still keeping the layout/borders/white background etc intact. Firefox seems to understand, as it does exactly this! however, IE isn;t being quite as cooperative...

I've realised just how badly I've worded this problem, so I apologise and just hope you understand my problem - let me know if anything needs clarifying.

Any help as to why this might be happening and how to fix it would be great,a s would suggestion for how to keep the site 'flexible' in terms of keeping the layout intact as more content is added and the site grows vertically.

Thanks a lot

Gavin

harristweed 09:28 11 Oct 06

CSS is still a bit of a mystry to me also, but I do know that IE doesn't recognise min-height (min-height: 250px;). The problem could be that the image is covering the boarder in IE and also the boxes on the right may also be covering the boarder.