slow loading

hayl 07:50 02 Feb 07

Hi, I would call myself a complete novice compared to most of the members on here, however I do know the basics of a pc. I bought a HP Pavilion zx6000 about 12 months ago and realise that it's on the lower end of laptops.
When starting up it takes pretty long before I can do anything as it must be loading things. It sometimes does this during use after it has loaded up.
I have a 60gb hd and have used around 40gb. I would like to know what I can do to speed up the laptop. I would also like to know what causes this problem so I can check for in the future.
Thanks.

wee eddie 08:22 02 Feb 07

Most likely: Windows XP.

What AV, Spy-ware and Firewall? I'm sure they are all up to date.

Have you just got M$ Office on there, or are you a hoarder of different programs and Trials?

hayl 08:31 02 Feb 07

Hi wee eddie.
I will say that I have quite a few programs installed. The majority of them are e-books. Is there a way I can save these to a disc and delete them from the laptop. Would this speed up things?

I have just gone with TalkTalk and I have got there Anti virus software.
Thanks.

andrew-196854 08:59 02 Feb 07

try using msconfig read this web page on how to do it click here

hayl 12:24 02 Feb 07

Hi dibblydufus, I have just done what you suggested, but there are none of the programs that it tells you not to touch there.
There are also a lot of things that I do not know what they are. Is there a way I could list them and you could tell me what to keep and what to not keep.
Cheers.

andrew-196854 14:04 02 Feb 07

type in msconfig again,then click services, next to start up click the box hide all microsoft services ,then that should leave you with a list of programs that you have on you pc , normally you leave antivirus programs and firewalls to start if in doubt you could always make a restore point first read here on how to do soclick here failing that post back what you see in there

ACOLYTE 14:08 02 Feb 07