Slave hard drive not seen in my computer or

helen_312 23:46 18 Nov 07

Disk management.

I have a 80Gb master running XP home and a 120Gb slave. The master boots into windows with out fault. The slave showns in the bios, post, in device manager, disk drives and atapi drives.

There is no way to format the drive through windows as it's not shown in my computer or disk management. the drive was working fine and has a ntfs file system.

I have tried booting with a XP installation disk, with the 80Gb disconnected and tried to force a format. This stopped at installing windows page.

I have tried an ultimate boot disk with kill disk and all the wiping tools. I have tried to rebuild the partition through test disk and other utilities, all fail. They can see the disk and all report it as a 120gb maxtor hard drive.

I have downloaded the maxtor / seagate utilities but they do not see the disk and so can not work on it.

I have tried Ubunti, it loads from cd and when I ask it to load onto the hard drive, it sees the drive and sets up the full partition and as it starts to install comes up with a F3 virtual drive error.

In all instances the drive is seen and recognised as a maxtor 120Gb. It just will not let me work on it:-(

Any suggestions to what I may of missed?

helen_312 23:53 18 Nov 07

Also have tried Fdisk and fdisk mbr. Even tried to load Vista on the disk, just to check drive fitness.

S.M.A.R.T.reports the drive to be fine and healthy.

What I do get in device manager, disk drives, maxtor120gb, volumes and then populate is virtually zero for all settings.

I think the mbr is damaged but nothing seems to be touching it.

helen_312 19:51 19 Nov 07

Bump.

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 20:50 19 Nov 07

The slave showns in the bios, post, in device manager, disk drives and atapi drives.

Try uninstalling in device manager rebbot see if windows finds and reinstalls in devicemanager and then see if it appears in M Comp and Disk Man.