Sky Broadband

Hugo15 12:22 12 Dec 06

I'm new to this computer lark and I am thinking of getting Sky Broadband (mainly because the base package is free). How long does it take from ordering it from Sky to getting on the net. I understand they have to activeate something? What does this mean?

How easy is it to get it to work once it arrives? I can follow a decent set of intructions but I am no tech wizard (but you might have guessed this from the questions in this post!!)

Thanks

Dipso 14:46 12 Dec 06

Do you know if Base is available in your area? If not, you can only go for the Connect package at £17 per month.

click here and enter the name of your telephone exchange. When you get the results click on your exchange name and look for Local loop unbundling presence and see if Easynet is available (this is the network Sky are using).

As for setting it up, the Sky router is a Netgear DG834GT which is pretty easy to set up or you can go to click here for a tutorial.

daxian 16:33 12 Dec 06

hi dipso ....thanks for the link ,wahay....mine is in the list ....enabled since november,.....

wonder when sky will get round to tellin me ???

registered when they first announced it.
Dave.

bluto1 19:21 12 Dec 06

Why?

Hugo15 20:49 12 Dec 06

Thanks Dispo. Easynet is available in my area. Not much else is though.

If I don't go for Sky, what else is good?

baldyx 21:19 12 Dec 06

I have now been a Sky broadband user for about a month and I think have exceeded the quota for the problems i have had.

I have reported problem with my router on 18th November when I was informed that a new router will be sent to me in a couple of days (I thought great at the time!).No router arrived by the end of 5days & to cut the long story short, I have contacted them about six times since then and last phone call time I was told that my replacement order was ,for some reason, cancelled!
I was not informed of this until I phone them.
My router arrived today and is , fingers crossed,