simple question about images, I think

Boy Zone 20:08 07 Feb 05

Hi,

I using Dreamweaver MX 2004, but I'm still learning.
What I want is to create a page with small photo images ( a gallery), and when you click onto one of these will take you to another page with the larger photo.
I have put each small photo into a layer,is this best or should I have used tables?
Each image is scaled using Photoshop
small image 150 * 100 pix
large image 500* 300 pix each with a resolution of 200. The problem I'm having is the small images are very fuzzy. I don't want the images too large as I intend to put about 15 or more to my page each about 30K in size.
Am I going about this in the right way?

slowhand_1000 23:14 07 Feb 05

Can you not show the larger image at 72dpi (screen res) The resulting image would be smaller in file size (kb's).

For showing thumbnails I prefer to use tables. I find them easy to manage.

As fourm member suggests, check that your thumbnails are displaying at their correct size.

Do the thumbnails look ok when viewed away from the web page?

Taran 01:20 08 Feb 05

If you also have Fireworks installed (part of the Macromedia Studio web developing suite) then you can use the automated gallery feature built into Deramweaver and tell Fireworks the dimensions you want your images to be.

If you don't have Fireworks you will have to resort to alternatives. These include resizing all of the images manually or obtaining software that will do much of the work for you.

IrfanView is OK and free click here

It can be used to adjust your images or even create an entire slideshow/gallery which can be used for the web.

But having said that, you mentioned Photoshop, so here we go:

Open up Photoshop.

Select the files or folder you want to use from the file browser.

Click on File, scroll down to Automate and then select Web Photo Gallery.