Silly Question

ameba 21:15 28 Apr 03

....It may seem silly but when you get a new PC, does a sound card come with it? I have sounds etc.
I bought a CD RW today and went to connect it and it says to connect the IDE Interface cable to the sound card but I can't seem to find anything for the cable to fit into?
Do I need to get a sound card and connect it to motherboard before I can connect the IDE interface cable?

spikeychris 21:18 28 Apr 03

If you don't have a sound card fitted look for the on board connector. As to the question, all computers do not come with sound cards..

Chris

ameba 21:22 28 Apr 03

That's probably it then, no sound card installed.
Thought I was just being a stupid newbie to PC's and couldn't see the obvious. Well, I am a stupid newbie, I didn't know. :)
Thanks again for your help.

misters 21:24 28 Apr 03

I'm pretty sure when i fitted my cdrw it came with a thin wire, one side fiteted to the cdrw and the other to the sound card, which is seperate from the motherboard and other ide connections you could try looking for this connection.

Legolas 21:26 28 Apr 03

As spikeychris says some m/boards come with onboard sound in that case there will be a connection point on the m/board, some systems come with a sound card fitted in that case there will be a connection point on the sound card and some systems, although unlikely, come with neither in that case you would need to buy and fit a sound card. If you are already getting sound but you have no sound card then you will have onboard sound and there will be a connection point on the m/board.

spikeychris 21:27 28 Apr 03

There was a time when every member here would not even of known how to turn a computer on ;o)

Chris

misters 21:30 28 Apr 03

lol

MIke 21:32 28 Apr 03