Sign into my Google account?

  1936 09 Oct 12
Locked

I have recently received a series of the following message.
I have no idea what my password is or my account but more importantly I have no idea what sort of threat the E-Mail implies that I face. Do I need Google and if not how do I dump it?

Thank you in anticipation.

Someone recently tried to sign in to your Google Account, XXXXX @btinternet.com. We prevented the sign-in attempt in case this was a hijacker trying to access your account. Please review the details of the sign-in attempt:

Tuesday, October 9, 2012 12:27:40 AM GMT IP Address: 184.91.155.31 (bhn.net) Location: Winter Park, FL, USA

If you do not recognize this sign-in attempt, someone else might be trying to access your account. You should sign in to your account and reset your password immediately. Find out how at http://support.google.com/accounts?p=reset_pw

Sincerely, The Google Accounts Team

© 2012 Google Inc. 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043

You have received this mandatory email service announcement to update you about important changes to your Google product or account.

  Chronos the 2nd 09 Oct 12

If you do not have an account then just bin the email. I get this sort of thing from banks I seem to have an account with. These emails are little more than fishing expeditions and if you do not have an account and do not respond then you are fine.

  Chronos the 2nd 09 Oct 12

PS. Whatever you do certainly do not click on any link contained in the email.

  FRANKMAC 17 Oct 12

Hi

Like chronos suggests this looks like a scam to me too, just delete the email. My suspicions are heightened as every google help page i have visited has a Https prefix rather than just http. i cant be 100% but i would certainly NOT click the link.

HTH Mac

  Forum Editor 18 Oct 12

Google does routinely send these messages when it detects what it thinks might be an unauthorised sign-in attempt.

It means that Google has seen a sign-in coming from a different location to the one you most commonly use. In most cases it will have been you doing the sign in. In this case it probably wasn't, unless you were in Winter Park in Florida on the 9th October.

Take a look at this for more information on the subject

You can safely click the link in the Google email, by the way. If you don't use the Google account the best thing is to ignore the warning and delete the email.

Advertisement

This thread is now locked and can not be replied to.

OnePlus 2 UK release date, price, specification rumours: When is the OnePlus 2 coming out? July…

We are being sold the ability to spend money we don't have. And we love it

HTC's head designer on what's exciting in designing for mobile right now

Apple Music preview: Why Spotify should be scared of Apple's impressive new music-streaming service

We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message