Should I wait for the new MS replacement for XP?

golfpro 17:19 28 Aug 06

I have been thinking for a few weeks now, of installing an English version of XP Home over the German version on one of my computers. But would I be better off waiting for the new OS whatever its called to come on the market. When is it due does anyone know, and is there any info from Microsoft on the web on the new version.

golfpro 17:23 28 Aug 06

One other thing, do you think the price of XP Home will come down when Vista (yes I found the name) is introduced?

griffon 56 17:35 28 Aug 06

I've been running Win 98SE for the last 5 years and am only just considering changing to XP, with Linux as a dual boot. There are many like me, even in business, who persevere with earlier operating systems, especially when older programs they find useful won't run on the latest whizzbang.

From the veiled professional comments I have recently seen there is no guarantee that Vista will be any more secure than XP, and there is more than a hint from Microsoft that it won't be out soon. I think we are looking at well into 2007 before it ships. In any case, a well-patched and updated OS is surely better than a leaky, untried system which will be targetted by all the usual suspects.

I'd wait if I were you, until XP drops significantly in price and then buy it, bring it right up to date and have fewer worries.

anskyber 17:57 28 Aug 06

Something the FE said some time ago which has stuck in my memory. He said that once Vista is shipped expect more upgrades for XP (perhaps a service pack 3 even - my words) My understanding is that some of the improvements in Vista will appear in the upgrades. Certainly I would hope/expect XP to be priced reasonably once Vista is shipped. (in the Spring?)

If you do get XP either now or then some of the little benefits will be available, for example I have just downloaded IE 7 which I very much like compared with IE 6.

anskyber 17:58 28 Aug 06