Should i upgrade or start again? advice for gaming

Cat1982 12:09 08 Jun 08

Hello

so let me start by saying i am an absolute beginner when it comes to upgrading/building PCs and so thats why i'm here :) Also i apologise if this is a wall of text, bare with me :S

what i have at the moment bought from Alienware is:
Motherboard: NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI
Processor: AMD AthlonT 64 FX-62 Dual Core
Memory: 2GB DDR2 PC-6400 SDRAM at 800MHz - 2 x 1024MB
Video Card: 1024MB NVIDIA® GeForceT 7950 GX2
Physics Processing Unit : AGEIA PhysXT Physics Processing Unit
System Drive: Single Drive Configuration - 250 GB Serial ATA 3Gb/s, 7,200 rpm with 8MB Cache
Optical Drive One: 16x Dual Layer DVD±R/W Recorder
Sound Card: Creative Sound Blaster® X-Fi XtremeMusic
Network Card: Integrated High Performance Gigabit Ethernet Adapter (DSL-ready)
Monitor: 19" Dell UltraSharp 1907FP Black Flat Panel LCD Monitor

this was all bought about 2 years ago and havent had any problems with it at all, however it really couldnt handle AoC (age of conan) and i'm starting to read more in to components and things and feeling like i could do with a new system. I feel my memory is lacking, video card could do with upgrading and also want a blu-ray drive. I will be mainly using the comp for playing MMOs all guns blazing and multi-tasking, burning dvds etc not animating shrek 4 from scratch but dont want to be underpowered, money isnt a factor but value for money is. I dont want to pay through the nose for things that are just not worth it or i can get cheaper elsewhere.

So really my question is can i salvage things from what i have? Alienware's top high performance gaming rig is around the 4000-5000 pound mark which is just too intense. Looking on Dabs.com i can buy all the same components for 2500 or so i'm just not sure i have the confidence to put it all together and troubleshoot it but paying 3000 for alienware to do that for me stings (not to mention buying vista again)