Setting up of IIS

machow 22:03 30 Oct 03

hello all.

this is my first time at setting up an IIS, and i seem to be having great difficulty.

I have it installed on my pc, and have been going through tutorials in dreamweaver mx. I want to create a website using asp pages, so i have followed the help file to test my IIS. I have typed the code as follows.

p> the time is b>

% =time%>

/b>on my comp /p>

i have saved this in wwwroot with ext .asp.

when i type url into browser i get the output as though it was a standard html file.(the output is exactly as above)

Has anyone any suggestions as to what i am doing wrong.As i have no idea!

many thanks!

Forum Editor 23:05 30 Oct 03

you must save your file to the Inetpub\wwwroot folder with the extension: .htm or .html

Don't forget that you must open the page in your browser with an http request, so the url you type should be http: followed by //localhost/nameofyourfile.html

machow 23:09 30 Oct 03

i have tried the code in Note pad and it works ok. It displays the time as per my pc.

So can i assume that the iis is working correctly??

It just doesnt seem to work in dreamweaver. do i need to configure anything else??

I have even uploaded the code to domaindlx, but it still doesnt work.

Im at a total loss!

Thanks

machow 23:33 30 Oct 03

I have just tried the code in frontpage. and it works fine.

would i be any worse off if i used frontpage instead of Dreamweaver??

Forum Editor 00:02 31 Oct 03

but remember that your web host will need to have the FrontPage extensions installed on the server. FrontPage 2003 (the latest version) doesn't use extensions in the accepted sense, but you'll need Microsoft Sharepoint services running on the server to take full advantage of the impressive range of FP2003 components.

machow 00:07 31 Oct 03

Im a little lost now. I have frontpage 2002, but i dont really understand what you mean by the 'extensions installed on the server'.
Is this something i need to do??