Self build project checklist

Bacon & Eggs 17:05 01 Jul 03

I've never built a system before but will shortly be doing so for my mum to replace the trusty, surprisingly reliable but now hopelessly outdated 'family' PC.

A little Ebuyer research has put together a spec: can anyone give me any opinions as to whether this would work as is, and particularly whether I've missed anything out that I'd need (apart from a keyboard and mouse to be scavenged from the old one).

It will be a simple family system for homework, email and the odd game (though not many), maybe the occasional DVD. Huge performance not required!!

Here's what I've got so far:

Case: ICI 6310 inc 300w PSU

Power lead for the PSU

Mobo: ECS K7SOM+ incl Duron 1800; USB 2.0 support; sound built in (though I may get a cheapie SB Live), AGP 4x, thus:

GFX card: GF3 Ti-200 Powerpack Ti-450 (...malarky, etc) 64Mb

RAM: 512Mb DDR

HDD: 40Gb Western Digital UIDE100 7200rpm, 8mb cache

CDR+DVD: Liteon LTC-48161H 48x24x48x16 internal

FDD: Panasonic OEM

Monitor: GNR CM1772FS 17" CRT

Speakers: JNC400W SP-58HS (might be upgraded to a 2.1 system if I get a proper soundcard.)

Total cost of the above, P&P and VAT included, £373.38.

All yours: what do you think?

Rayuk 18:18 01 Jul 03

Rather than the combi drive.

Would get both LG 48x24x48 CDRW oem[+Nero] and 16x48 DVD drive for £46 + vat not much extra but better for copying cd to cd and also if 1 fails you have a fall back.Also doesnt say whether you get a copy of Nero with the combi drive you are thinking of getting[which is worth more than the extra £5+ for the 2 drives

BurrWalnut 19:53 01 Jul 03

You have missed one thing that will make it all work - an operating system!

Also, you mention the power cable, so presumably you are getting IDE cables with the new equipment, but you may want internal Audio cables to connect to the CD and USB cables if you have extra sockets at the front.

clayton 20:29 01 Jul 03