Seeking help from Electronic Engineer part 2

phill1959 12:06 21 Mar 06

Paddyjack has now set me up so I can answer questions directly.
Firstly i would like to say thank you for your help also i am only an amature at this although hoping to get better.
I am using an sg3525 pwm to drive a transfomer which is is driving two irf840 fets in a half bridge config i have zeners clamping the the voltage at 15v however i seem to be driving the inductors instead of the load, The load being 12 peizo vibrators. The coils seem to resonate instead of the transducers, i know that the frequency has alot to do with the matching of the inductors and have tried to play with both without any satisfactory results. I have occasionly had problems with shoot though and am not sure if i have a parasitic problem with stray EMPs ?

terryf 12:15 21 Mar 06

It seems to me (as an expired electronics engineer, I blew all my fuses a long time ago) that you may get help with this on a different sort of forum. I suggested in my last post that you perhaps spend time getting used to the web and then post a question into the Google search engine, it is surprising how typing a straight forward question will come up with the answer or you could search for 'electronic design forums'. Don't despair, some-one out there will know the answer to your problem

octal 12:50 21 Mar 06

It sounds like the inductors are resonating. Are the indictors acting as a choke? If the are they will have to be designed so that resonances fall outside the frequency range, no mean feat if you are hard switching the FET’s which will be rich in harmonics.

Have you thought of using non-inductive thick film resistors in place of the inductors? They can be obtained from Farnell Electronic Components.

Without seeing the circuit its difficult to visualise. Maybe upload a copy of the circuit to here click here and someone might be able to advise.

phill1959 13:46 21 Mar 06