Scrolling mouse doesn't work in Word

spw75 08:24 02 May 04

Hi

I'm a bit of a newbie on here not to mention a girl, so the less etch speak the better!, but I hope somone can help.

I recently upgraded my PC but kept my software and the scrolling mouse doesn't seem to work in Word.

I'm operating Windows 98 SE and I think it is Word 95 or 98 - is there a patch or something I can downlaod, it is really irritating

Thanks for any help/advice

S

john-232317 08:45 02 May 04

Does it work in other programs ?

spw75 08:49 02 May 04

It works in everything else except MS Office applications (Word, Excel and Powerpoint in my case)

thks

Stuartli 08:50 02 May 04

If you go to Start>Settings>Control Panel and double click on Mouse, you will get a panel up.

Use the Settings tab to set your mouse scrolling rates etc.

Also, by right clicking on the scroll bar on the right hand side of the screen, you can choose various scrolling features from the menu which appears.

spw75 08:53 02 May 04

Hi

thanks for the above, I don't get a menu when I right click in Word and there isn't a settings tab in the menu for the mouse in the control panel.

Just a thought (and don't forget I'm a bit of a novice), but do I have to 'install the mouse'? I just plugged it in and it worked....

john-232317 08:59 02 May 04

Win 98, yes you have to install software.

spw75 09:03 02 May 04

Apologies for the extremely stupid question that is about to come.....I just got the mouse in abox with the new PC, so how do I install it, there were no discs or anything, can I downlaod something?

john-232317 09:06 02 May 04

Just tried mine out, i have to click the wheel on the page not on the scrollbar, then the scroll thingy goes on the scrollbar...?? ;-)

spw75 09:11 02 May 04