scanning and copying

Rufus625 10:24 07 Aug 07

Hello, thanks in advance to anyone who can help, I have two questions:

1. One of my tutors at university had a great little scanning device: he just fed a piece of paper into it, it wizzed it through instantly and the paper was there on his computer screen. Is this kind of 'instant' scanner normal? Does anyone know of one similar?

2. As a teacher I need to photocopy things a lot of the time, is it ever cost-effective to photocopy at home?

Cheers!

kindly 10:41 07 Aug 07

Your second question first.. it can be more cost effective doing your copying at home, but this will depend on your printer costs. If you are printing black and white or text then I would use the lowest setting your printer will allow such as "draft mode", unless you need high quality copies. I tend to save to my computer and only print what I need.
The first question.. I dont know what the other person is using but are you saying that he scans the things he needs when next to the computer with the scanner connected. Mine scans straight into the computer and really only takes the time it takes to scan or preview then scan to show up on the screen. Again, my scanner is three years old and I use Corel Print to do the scanning.
Not much help but a few things to think about.

wee eddie 10:44 07 Aug 07

Different in what they do as the Photocopy on the drum is lost the moment a new document is passed.

A Scan becomes a file. Initially rather like a photo which can be stored and printed again. However any text on it cannot be altered without OCR (Optical Character Recognition) Software which interprets the various different colours on the file and turns them into text that a Word Processor. (Some OCR Software is more successful in this than others). You could then alter the document that you have scanned if you wished.