scanner set up

ΆØL HåŁęŖ 18:40 25 May 03

can anyone please talk me through the set up of my new cannon scanner the make is cannon n1240u
it is plugged into the usb port but it is not working as i am a novice and i really dont know what to do, i have a disk with it, do i install that first if so how? i use win xp pro on my laptop and would love it for someone to show me step by step how to do it.

Many thanks

R

powerless 18:47 25 May 03

Disconnect the scanner.

Now put the CD in and let it autorun. Install the software and Drivers of this disc. (should do this automatically)

Now connect up the scanner and Windows XP will do the rest.

BarryKeith 18:56 25 May 03

Unfortunately, XP will not do the rest,If you are running XP, then the drivers do not get installed automatically, it must be done manually.Install the drivers for your scanner and follow these instructions. As WinXP supports the Scanner with an own WIA driver model it is necessary to manually exchange the standard scanner driver. For this, open the Device Manager and double click on the scanner entry in the category Imaging Device. In the Properties dialog window, tab "Driver", click "Update driver" and select the option "Software from a list...". In the next Step select the option "Do not search...". The Hardware-Assistant will display the available drivers. Select the scanner Driver: "USB Scanner". Ignore (!) any Warning that the driver has no WindowsXP Logo certificate and continue with the installation, also ignore the entry with the name of your scanner as that is the windows driver. Restart WinXP. Now you can use your scanner.

powerless 18:58 25 May 03

They are not installed as you have to do it manually.

click here and wait a few seconds for Driver installation.

powerless 18:59 25 May 03

I just found that out.

Djohn 19:05 25 May 03