Scanner Installation - Twain Driver Questions

dublincity 00:22 29 May 03

I have a new CanoScan D646U Scanner and it seems that I need to have a Twain Driver before it can be installed. I have downloaded what I believed was the correct program(s). I am a novice and do not uderstand the following, (a) there are now 4 related icons on my desktop and when I click on them I get a message saying 'such-and-such is not a valid Win32 program', (b) I can access, via Fresh Download Manager, what appears to be the program for installing the Twain Driver, however, when I move to the Win'98 section, The first 'Next' button is 'frozen'. Any advice will be welcomed. Thamks.

woodchip 00:31 29 May 03

The twain driver is on the CD you got with the scanner. Is it a USB scanner.

dublincity 02:26 29 May 03

Hello again Woodchip. Thanks for advice. The on-screen info from the CD repeatedly tells me that the Twain driver is not installed but it doesn't explain how to do that. It tells me that I might, or might not, install the associated software but that the scanner will not be useable until the Twain Driver is installed. Cheers. dublincity.

turn off the computer ,plug in the scanner then reboot, the computer should detect new hardware and search for a driver for it, if it cant find one it will ask you for a disk, put the disk in and direct windows to the drive with the disk in, it should be able to find it.

if the computer does not find new hardware at bootup use the add new hardware wizard in the control panel and follow the instructions therein

post back if still no joy

dublincity 03:08 29 May 03