Satellite Pro A10 Problem, Please help :(

coolteentom 14:47 18 Jun 05

I bought a laptop (Satellite Pro A10) a year and a half ago. However just in the middle of listening to music, it froze, restarted, and when trying to reboot again, i heard the hard drive making a really loud clicking noise, and an error message came up saying:

"PXE-E61: MEDIA TEST FAILURE, CHECK CABLE.
PXE-M0F: EXITING INTEL BOOT AGENT.
INSERT SYSTEM DISK IN DRIVE"

or

"A DISK READ ERROR OCCURED"

I am in the middle of trying to take the laptop apart to see if a cable has come out or something, as i am a student and cannot really afford a professional to look at it. I am having trouble getting to the hard drive though, and i am unable to do coursework, so please if anyone has any ideas, pleeeeeease send them over.

Thanks
tom

alltime 14:59 18 Jun 05

Tom try this it might help

click here

coolteentom 20:24 18 Jun 05

Thanks alltime, I had a go at some of the solutions, but none of them seem to have had any affect, although I could get into the BIOS.

If anyone else has any suggestions please let me know,

cheers

woodchip 20:48 18 Jun 05

Do not take the laptop apart, Bad move unless you know what you are doing. You should run scandisk or a disc checker from floppy disc depending on what your operating system is. hears one you could use to check the hard drive click here Put floppy in drive and double click the downloaded file

alltime 21:16 18 Jun 05

Tom I agree with woodchip on this one not taking the laptop apart. But I think with care you should be able to remove the CD drive, If you turn it over there is 1 screw at the back or the cd unit in the middle and it should slide out.DONT FORGET TO REMOVE THE BATTERY FIRST.
I Have an A30 tosh and alot of these units are the same. Try rebooting after the drive has been removed, you might have to alter the first boot device in the bios to you hard drive.
See if you get any errors then.

woodchip 21:19 18 Jun 05