SATA Drive for System Files ??

dregn 17:36 31 Oct 03

I am about to build a new PC using a Pentium4 2.6C on an Abit IC7-G motherboard.

I am contemplating using a WD Raptor 37GB SATA drive as master. Another 80GB WD IDE drive would be slave( Non SATA ). I would partition the Raptor into 3 and load the OS ( WinXP Pro )on the C drive and put applications and a Linux OS on the other two partitions.

I would propose using the slave drive for data, graphics etc.

Is this feasible and would I be utilising the supposed benefits of a SATA drive most efficiently ?

Any advice, comments or experience will be much appreciated.

GORAL 20:41 31 Oct 03

I am no expert but what you propose should work. However at the present time I believe there are very few devices indeen which are capable of taking advantage of what SATA drives promise. Obviously you are someone who likes to keep very much 'up to date'.

dregn 19:54 01 Nov 03

GORAL

Thanks for that,

I think I shall go down the route I have suggested. I'll report on the outcome.

Thanks again for your interest.

dregn

Rayuk 20:00 01 Nov 03

Just a quick note.
The new Raptor drives will be coming out end of Nov which I understand will be much faster than the originals.

click here

Chegs ? 22:11 01 Nov 03