Sasser recovery !

dm001s7685 22:05 05 Jan 05

Hi everyone,
I am a relative novice to solving pc problems, and i would welcome any advice on helping me solve my problem. I recently had Broadband installed, and at the same time contracted the sasser virus. I managed to stop my PC from repeatedly closing down, and I then also purchased Norton antivirus 2004 to help clean up my pc. It seems to have done the job, however I have been advised that if i have certain .exe files in my task manager (which i do- Isass.exe) I still have the virus. I have tried to close this application but the system will not allow me to stop it each time i try to end the application. I have tried to install Windows service pack 2 on several occasions but this keeps failing also.
I am on the verge of calling in the cavalary (pc world) but i would like to try and solve this myself (hopefully with your help!)

Thank you in advance for your help

Danny

VoG II 22:11 05 Jan 05

Cavalry (PC World) - NOT.

Try running Stinger click here

THE TERMINATOR 22:32 05 Jan 05

Whatever you do, don't ring the rip-off merchants all the help you need is here click here and click here but for your info I cannot end Isass.exe neither-and I have no virus's....TT

VoG II 22:33 05 Jan 05

Quite right sir.

If you have Lsass.exe running, that is a different matter.

dm001s7685 23:00 06 Jan 05

Thanks for your help - the links have been a great help and have ridden my system of 6 trojan horse virus's. Two problems remain though!
My clock goes out of sync each time i shut down the PC! I have reset it 6 times to no avail. Also
I am still unable to download Windows XP service pack 2 though! It keeps telling me that the program key is not suitable to download the service pack and I should visit howtotell.com for info...tried it but it might as well be in mandarin chinese for all the sense it makes!

Thanks for helping anyway VoG and The Terminator

PS Point taken over pc world.

Danny

sat481 23:27 06 Jan 05