Samsung SSD X2 IN RAID 0 On Intel Series 7 Help Please

Technicsman 22:14 14 Jul 13

I have built lots of systems over the years, but this is my first build using SSD, having seen a great article on this site showing Intel raid 0 working on the series 7 boards with trim working and I think garbage collection as well with fantastic results, so I thought I would have a go at it myself.

My Problem, the article I read did not give out this information and this is where I need the help. When the ssd’s firmware has been updated if needed as I am led to believe it is best to do this with the drives plugged into other ports and to check for updates. Question 1, when the ssd’s are attached to the system and the bios is set to raid, and the raid is created in crtl I set up, when I come to install the OS which will be a clean install, do I need to install the Intel raid driver Via a USB stick or the old Floppy way at the Screen F6 prompt to add an additional driver device, or do you just use the native Microsoft drivers that Windows will install?. Question 2, when the O/S is installed and then I add the Intel RST desktop software does this software provide the tools for the Trim support / garbage collection automatically in say a tool box built in the software or, will I need to install the Samsung Magic software suite as well and run the tools when needed from that Software? Any help will be thankfully received; I am waiting for this info to start building my new rig.

For Gaming Rig, System specs: Win 7 64 SP1 Ultimate, Mobo Intel DZ77RE-75K Extreme Series, CPU Intel Core i7-3770K, 3.50, Samsung 840 Pro SSD x 2, in raid 0, (Hopefully) on the two Sata 6 gig ports, 4 WD Raptors, 1 Terabyte each in 0 + 1 on the four 3 Gig ports for data Apps storage, 2 x 8 Gig Dominator Platinum 16GB total DDR3 1600 MHz CAS 9, 2 x Sapphire HD 7790 2GB GDDR5 OC crossfire. 850 Watt, corsair PSU.

Mr Mistoffelees 09:28 15 Jul 13