Safely remove h.ware switches off card reader

six-h 19:42 02 Mar 05

Card reader appeared to fail some wks. ago and
Medion arranged for a replacement reader to be installed today,Problem persists, but on closer examination it appears that clicking on the safely remove H.ware icon in sys tray now removes all three card slots from "my computer" until the system is rebooted (which it never did before).
Medion took me through a static dicharge proceedure which changed nothing, then got me to change 1st,2nd,and 3rd boot in cmos to dvdrom,floppy,and card reader- still no effect except that I now have a non-existant floppy A drive in "my computer"-Their final sugestion was a "factory re-set" which I thought a bit o.t.t.
Phoned them to query this advice and the engineer came to the conclusion that the motherboard maybe at fault! I am a complete novice but feel this is escalating way out of control Can anyone shed some light before medion tear my machine to bits?

jack 21:37 02 Mar 05

Safely Remove Hardware commant will shut down ALL external devices
An external device is anything that is not builtinto the computer.a scanner, printer, external drives.
Even those 'modern' computers with 'built in' card slots- the slots are to all intents and purposes 'external'

siouxah1 22:19 02 Mar 05

the same thing happens to my card reader/machine combination. (Home built with Aopen main board).
Have become used to checking the activity light on the reader, if not active just withdraw the card. The only time you will have problems is if you remove the card while being written to.

I have learnt to live with it.

Regards Brian

Newuser4165 22:42 02 Mar 05

If you single click on the task bar icon you can turn off the active flash device which is indicated by the drive letter allocated to it eg smartmedia on F

If however you double click on the task bar icon you will see a different screen which only allows you to turn off the entire device.