Running life via laptop - Advice needed (please).

Miyah 11:41 30 May 05

Following an illness I am going to be 'housebound' for a while. This means that work, banking, shopping etc. is all going to have to be done from home on my laptop (running XP Home SP1 updated with SP2).

I have Norton AV 2003 with updated current subscription, Zone Alarm Firewall, Spybot S&D (teatimer on), Ad-Aware and have just put Microsoft AntiSpyware (Beta) on to try it out. All updated everyday.

BUT something still managed to get through and switch off and disable my AV Auto Protect and put something on my laptop causing amongst other things the CPU to run at 100%. As I did not know enough to trace where or what it was, and I regularly back up everything, I restored my laptop to factory settings from the pre-installed Norton Ghost (?) on the partitioned drive.

I would be realy grateful for any advice on the following. As is probably very obvious I have little technical knowledge - and it would be nice to know enough so that I can avoid adding 'paranoia' about security online to my present list of woes :-)

So my questions are ...

1. Was I right in thinking that the factory restore would have overwritten and got rid of anything that was on the laptop?

2. Should I get AV 2005 instead of just continually renewing subs on 2003, does it have any features that would give me more protection?

3. As I am now going to have do all my financial transactions online, what would you advise me to put on to make sure I am secure?

4. What are the 'do's and don'ts' I should be following to make sure I stay secure?

5. I am only on dial up here. My Firewall and AV are both online subsciption. Is there any possibility of something being put on the laptop during the lengthy time I was online pre- install, downloading the programmes, that would not be picked up when scanning with the installed AV (and spyware) afterwards?

Many thanks for any help.

muscic lover 11:55 30 May 05