Rugby Club website

manrow 10:29 13 Mar 08

I am hoping to be able to set up a website for a local amateur rugby club; I hasten to add I have no experience of this whatsoever!

Googling brings up many companies offering to host, design etc., at a cost which the club could not support.

Where should I start considering hosting, design software, etc? I am not intending to include a message board but would need to easily post match reports and other information several times weekly.

Clues please, and if good enough the more free sites you can offer the better!

MAJ 11:25 13 Mar 08

How much is the club willing to support, manrow? Hosting isn't that expensive but designing a site can be. Do you have a domain name already for the site?

manrow 11:32 13 Mar 08

MAJ

Have not settled on a domain name yet. Had thought that perhaps everything could come in a complete package. The club would accept the initial setup costs and annual hosting fees but are hoping to avoid paying someone else to set it up, hence my amateur involvement, having the time.

MAJ 12:18 13 Mar 08

Personally, then, manrow, I would go with someone like Heart Internet click here (there are others) who charge about £40 for the first year hosting and about £30 every year after that (the Starter Professional option) and about £6 for two years for a .co.uk Domain name.

That leaves all the designing and updating to you.

MAJ 12:23 13 Mar 08

Forgot to say, manrow, Heart also offer some free hosting and you can use that if you have a domain name with them. The only drawback with that option is that there isn't a lot of a monthly bandwidth allowance (100MB, I think), so you don't need to have many hits on the site before that's used up. It's okay for setting the site up and testing though, before buying your 'real' hosting.

UncleP 22:02 13 Mar 08