Roxio DVD writing question.

Brazils 19:59 08 Nov 04

I have previously heard the saying 'multi-session', and in Roxio I get the option to make a disk 'read only'. I take this to mean 'closed' or 'finalised'? I am new to DVD writing and I am a bit unsure of what all this terminology means. Is there a good site that explains all this?

If I don't make the DVD read only, does this mean I can add more to it later. If yes, does it have to be DV+/-RW disks I use, or will it work with DV-R or DV+R?

Thanks in advance.

SEASHANTY 20:14 08 Nov 04

Do not have the Roxio DVD Suite only Easy CD creator so cannot comment on just what Roxiodoes in regard to DVD's. However in the CD Roxio suite if you open this suite and click on "help" somewhere on the right of one of the top lines it gives a vast amount of info in relation to the product. I am sure that the DVD suite will alaso provide similar information. Try it.

Brazils 20:42 08 Nov 04

I've had a good look at Roxio's help and online forums.

The software help, while good in places, is very vague in others. It mentions adding files to an "appendable disk", but doesn't say what this is. It's advice on burning mentions the choice to tick the "make read only" box, but doesn't explain why you would. Get my point?

To make the questions simpler; can I write to a DV-R more than once to add more files?

chris05 20:51 08 Nov 04

In answer to your question on dvd standards it all depends on your dvd burner what you can or can not burn to if you burner is multi format it will not matter if you use + or - Rewritables. its basically just a name the - and the + standard. And as for your question on Roxio I would imagine if you where to make a disk read only then you would not be able to edit disk contents or add to contents for a wild stab in the dark not got the program though just an educated guess. hope this helps :-)

chris05 20:53 08 Nov 04

Maybe this link will help you put with roxio good luck click here

Brazils 22:26 08 Nov 04