RJ45 crossover cable connection

Brirev 14:55 02 Nov 05

I am trying to connect a laptop and desktop together using a RJ45 crossover cable. I simply haven't a clue what to do! I've read various postings but must admit to being confused by the terminology - any help?

Cheers!

Jackcoms 15:29 02 Nov 05

Simplistically, you plug one end of the RJ45 into the RJ45 port on the laptop and the other end into the RJ45 port on the desktop.

But, I suppose the real question here is - what are you ultimately trying to achieve by connecting these 2 machines?

Brirev 15:55 02 Nov 05

Yeah - I'd got as far as plugging the two together :)

What I'm trying to achieve is:
- share files between the two PCs
- when I get broadband, enable both PCs to use the same connection

Both are Home XP. One is using the Windows firewall, the other is using ZoneAlarm set to "medium".

Please nb - I posted this query to absolute beginners for a good reason! Be kind.

Jackcoms 16:24 02 Nov 05

Try this click here

Brirev 17:41 02 Nov 05

I've looked at this - I'm still confused!

It seems to be steering me towards using a hub or router when I thought that I could just connect "peer-to-peer"

I've just been to visit an elderly neighbour who says she's too old to use PCs - I know how she feels!

Jackcoms 18:20 02 Nov 05

If you only wish to share files the RJ45 is the answer.

If you wish to share files AND an internet connection a router is the solution.

Skills 22:53 02 Nov 05

You can achieve what you want just using the RJ45 cable but the PC with the internet connection will have to remain switched on and connected to the net for the other PC to have net access.