Remastering Old Photos-How Do I Do It Please?

Alan L 11:13 06 May 08

Remastering Old Photos-How Do I Do It Please?

Hello.I've tried unsuccessfully to remaster very small old black & white photos and some hand-painted colour reprints taken around 90 years ago. Their size is around 3"x3". I currently use a Lexmark X1180 printer to scan them with,and try to use Adobe Photoshop Album Starter Edition 3.0 for enlargements,brightness,contrast and resizing.The results are not very good especially in terms of resizing.They come out blurred, often out of focus and look nothing like the originals especially when remodelled for an 8"x10" photosize.

I appreciate I'm new to trying this,and would welcome advice as to what the simple best way to resolve all these issues would be.Would a dedicated photographic scanner and new photographic software be useful?

Any help and advice would be appreciated. Thank you very much in advance for your help.

eedcam 11:30 06 May 08

When you scan the photo in what resolution are you scanning at. Also if you are changing the ratio ie going from 3x3 to 8x10 this can induce distortion. If I wanted an image close to 8x10 I would scan in at 900 then once imported I would resize to 10x10 and crop to 8x10 . As for software you could try irfranview and /or picassa both free and availble just google for them

Alan L 11:54 06 May 08

I don't know what the resolution is nor where to find it I'm afraid. All I know is what I've written earlier. I've tried to enlarge these smaller photos to be 8x10,but the distortion of the subject matter is grim. The whole picture is changed, everything-and everyone-gets distorted and thats not what I wanted. Sadly,when the pictures are shown on the computer screen,the distortion effect is terrible. Even the brightness and contrast change dramatically. I will try and donwload the two things you've mentioned and see if they work. Thank you very much for your very kind reply.It is greatly appreciated.

jack 12:17 06 May 08