Reinstall Norton Internet Security 2005

Running Bear 16:12 08 Mar 07

All,

I'm new to all this so I'm hoping some kind soul might be able to help me out. I'm no "Techie" but I'm pretty confident as a user and reasonably technically minded so I'm sure I should be able to sort it out if I persevere enough!

I've had to re install Windows XP (Home edition). After much faffing about, I've eventually got it back up and running and connected to the internet (broadband, wireless router). I thought the sensible next step would be to re install my Norton Internet Security 2005 as I was vulnerable from that point on.

So far, so good. But..... I just can't get it to install. Yes, I've switched Windows Firewall off. No, I DON'T have either Act! or Winfax installed. Yes, I've tried Norton's removal tool. Yes, I've unregistered and re registered the Windows installer thingy and finally yes, I have e mailed Symantec. Still no joy. Symantec have acknowledged my e mail (automatically) and promised a response within 48 hours but other's entries on various forums lead me to be sceptical about a result there. Hence this.

The error message I get is something like "internal error 2753" and then some gobbledygook about scanserv or something. Following the support trail on the Symantec site for that error just sends me back into the loop of trying their removal tool, which I've already established doesn't work.

Any advice would be much appreciated. I haven't included techy details of what my machine is etc, because I'm not sure they're necessary and my first post is already long enough, but can forward those if necessary/appropriate.

RobCharles1981 16:32 08 Mar 07

Why don't you go down the freebie route? Saves so much time bother and hassle.

Rob

Running Bear 16:37 08 Mar 07

Rob,