Registry Editor

goll_y 19:31 11 Mar 03

When I start up my computer now I get the following message comes up -

"Registry Editor: cannot import C:\WINNIT\sp.reg: Error opening the file. There maybe a disk or file system error"

I'm not sure what to do. I'm quite new to the technical side of computers so some step by step guidelines to sort this out would be really helpful. Thanks

woodchip 19:48 11 Mar 03

If you are new at computing, then you are treading in a minefield. And you would do well to keep clear of the Regedit until you know what you are doing

woodchip 19:50 11 Mar 03

What Operating Systen XP or 98 or ME

woodchip 19:51 11 Mar 03

It's got to be XP so I will leave it to some one more into XP like Vog

temp003 05:48 12 Mar 03

Have you recently got a virus/Trojan? The virus in question puts an entry into the registry to run every time you start Windows (to reset your IE Homepage or other things by using regedit), using the files sp.reg and sp.dll in your Windows folder.

It may be that your anti-virus program has removed the files, but the registry key remains. So every time you start Windows, it tries to run but cannot find the sp.reg file, hence the error message.

If you haven't scanned your computer for viruses, do so now.

Do two more things (1) remove the rogue registry startup entry (2) remove the rogue files.

Since your Windows folder is called WINNT, you're likely using Windows 2000, which hasn't got msconfig.

If you use any startup utility, use it to remove the registry Run entry. The key name is probably just sp, the value is regedit -s C:\WINNT\sp.reg. There may be some variation but sp.reg is the reference you're looking for.

Delete this startup item.

If you don't have a startup utility, download one. I use Mike Lin's Startup Control Panel click here After installing it, double click the Startup icon in Control Panel, click the various tabs (likely to be HKLM/Run) to look for an item