Registry Cleaner....

df118 21:25 11 Mar 04

I seem to need to run a clean-up of my Registry-how do i do that; what is a safe programme to use; how does the Clean -up thing work; how can I be sure that nothing VITAL will be deleted ; even the THOUGHT of doing it scares me..... (am running Windows 98 2nd ed). AND what exactly IS "the Registry"; what information does IT store...I have no idea where to start on this one so.....and "basic " language please; remember, I AM a novice at this........

gudgulf 21:59 11 Mar 04

The registry stores all the vital information you need to run windows and all the software on you computer--Do not mess with it!

There are a number of utilities that can clean clear out registry entries relating to uninstalled programmes and check for erroneous entries but you would be well advised not to meddle here.

What makes you think you need to perform such a clean-up?

LastChip 22:01 11 Mar 04

The Registry is a critical database of your system information, hardware and software. If you a novice, don't play with it, but cleaning with the program I mention below, is unlikely to cause any grief.

The safest program to use, is Microsoft's own RegClean 4.1a.

That's the good news. The bad, is Microsoft no longer offer this as a download, but if you type that title in a good search engine, you will find sites that still offer it. It is free, and whilst arguably, not the most thorough, I've never known it cause any damage. It also always makes a backup, so you can go back if there is a problem.

User-312386 22:06 11 Mar 04
  df118 19:22 12 Mar 04

Gudgulf( and others); refer to my "Dragon Naturally Speaking " thread for the "changed file" problem please; am continuing ON that one for that.......may NOT need the cleaner, I HOPE.....

BurrWalnut 19:42 12 Mar 04

Go here for a good registry cleaner click here It's only a 30 day trial version but it will sort out all the spurious entries. It's prudent to back up the registry before running it.