reformatting & re-installing windows xp.

stumpy69 22:37 19 Jul 04

My daughter has a Dell computer running win xp. Because of a virus that refuses to let her do any virus updates or scans (she's using Norton Int Sec 2004 and it wont even let her get onto their website), she's been advised to do a reformat & reinstall xp. The problem is she hasn't got a floppy drive so can't use a windows startup disk.The xp system disk she has is the 1 supplied by Dell. As I'm using Win Me myself I have no knowledge of xp at all.As Ive had to do a format & reinstall myself on my computer I got loads of help from you guys so I'm hoping someone will be able to help us novices again. Cheers.

son-of-a-gun 22:42 19 Jul 04

Hi stumpy69

Just put the XP disk in the drive and re-boot follow on screen instructions, you don't need a floppy boot up disk.

If you have two Hds in RAID you will need to request more help, if only one Hd which I suspect no problem.

stumpy69 22:50 19 Jul 04

Ok thanks, we'll give it a try.

harps1h 23:04 19 Jul 04

change the boot sequence so that first boot is the cdrom, second is the hdd and third is the floppy

son-of-a-gun 23:38 19 Jul 04

Hi stumpy69

You shouldn't need a floppy start up disk with Win ME either, the CD is self booting in the same manner as XP. I never used one when using ME

Hope it goes well

son-of-a-gun 19:59 20 Jul 04

Re ME I should have included

If your using an OEM version of ME like mine was if you allow it to boot to the opening screen which give's you the choice to
Reinstall sys fies
Quick format and re install windows
If you hit quit at this stage I'm sure you end up in a DOS screen that will allow you to Fdisk and format the Hd this is safer than doing the same from a floppy disk, because the CD if genuine will not contain a virus but a self made or Pro floppy disk could if the write protect tab is not left open.

stumpy69 21:09 20 Jul 04