Reformatting hard drive - 2 or 3 questions please

Shas 11:39 12 Aug 04

My computer is slowly grinding to a halt so I'm contemplating a reformat to get rid of the detrius that has built up over the last 5 years. Windows 98SE, 6GB hard drive partitioned as C (2Gig) and D (4Gig). Please bear with me if these sound a bit dumb, but I've never done this before so it's a bit scary! I know I have to back up any files etc. that I don't want to lose.

(1) If I format C, does it clear just that drive leaving the D drive alone? If I want to format the D drive as well, (without un-partitioning the drive), do I follow the same procedure but telling it to format D instead?

(2) All the advice says to make sure you have copies of all the necessary drivers etc. Does that just mean navigating to where the various files are held on the computer, copying them to a disc and then putting them back in the same places afterwards?

(3) (Now I know this sounds particularly stupid but I can't get my head round this one!) One walkthrough I read said it could take a day to do, so as the system would be well and truly down, any emails that may be sent to me while this is going on, are they lost forever? My account will still exist with the ISP so even though the software/settings are temporarily removed will any emails just be held in suspension until everything is restored? (I'm wondering whether I should do a blanket email to any important clients asking them to hold off emailing me until tomorrow.)

I think someone posted comprehensive instructions on reformatting on here, but I can't find them. If anyone could point me in their direction it would be very much appreciated, as would any other advice. Thanks in advance.

Smegs 11:53 12 Aug 04

1) At the dos prompt, type in format c /s, that will format your hard drive. As for the D drive, I think you will be able to do this from within windows its self. But please wait for someone to comfirm this.