Reformat hard Drive & reinstall Win 98

iscanut2 09:27 06 May 04

I am going to help a friend out who needs his hard drive reformatted and Win 98 reinstalled. I have made a boot floppy containing system files including FDISK & FORMAT but will his CD be recognised in order to install WIN 98. I have a copy of MSCDEX on the floppy. Is it sufficient to place this file in the root C directory in order for Drive D to be set up and recognised or is there something else I need to do.

mackaycc 09:47 06 May 04

The boot floppy is sufficient for loading the cd driver. Just use the boot floppy and you will get an option to start up with cd-rom support.

mgmcc 09:54 06 May 04

If friend's PC is still functioning, why not create a "boot floppy" from that? Go to "Control Panel > Add/Remove" and select the Startup disk tab. This will give you the option to boot "with CD ROM support" in order to run the install from the CD. If the CD drive is normally "D", it will temporarily be displaced by one letter to become "E".

Otherwise a Win 98 boot floppy can be downloaded from click here

Gongoozler 09:56 06 May 04

To elaborate on the posting from mackaycc. You need a boot floppy made from a Windows 98 or 98se computer. Control Panel - Add/Remove Programs - Startup Disk. Boot the computer with this disk in the floppy drive, and select "Start with CD-ROM support" (or something like that). This disk will create a virtual drive in ram that will have everything you need to format the hard drive and run the CD drive. Don't forget that the virtual drive will temporarily take the next available letter after the hard drive(s), so the CD drive will be moved on one letter. i.e. if the CD drive is normally D:, for the purposes of the installation it will be E:

keith-236785 10:03 06 May 04