Recycled Bin files renamed

Tedlaw 17:11 24 Jan 04

Files deleted are stored in recycled folder as DC**** i.e. deleted file Test.txt appears as DC23229.txt. Also a file is created INFO which is updated with each deletion currently 6352Kb. OS Win98 se. Any ideas as to program causing this or method to disable it.

Jester2K 17:18 24 Jan 04

Thats how they are supposed to be.

To look at the recycle bin properly open the Recycle Bin on the desktop or at the bottom of the tree in Windows Explorer.

Recycle folder is a system folder and you should look at it directly.

Tedlaw 10:03 25 Jan 04

So far you and I are the only ones to see DC files. I have been using win98 for 6 years with no sign of DC files. I've checked with friends and they don't have them. The DC files appeared after a HD failure and reinstallation of win98 to a new HD.

Jester2K 07:48 26 Jan 04

It's been a while since i used 98 on a daily basis and looked at this but I was sure thats how they were stored.

Obviously i'm wrong.

Jester2K 07:52 26 Jan 04

taken from click here

Note: When a deleted file is moved to the recycle bin Windows 95 creates or appends file header information to a hidden file named INFO in the \RECYCLED directory. It then places the deleted files in the same directory and renames them. Files in the \RECYCLED directory have names that begin with DC, e.g. DC2.COM, DC3.DOC, DC4.TXT.

Now i know thats 95 but i was sure it was the same for 98.

Now heres the question....

Are you looking directly at the recycle bin through the RECYCLED folder? If so then I'd expect to see these files.

If you are looking at the Recycle Bin through the Recycle Bin icon on the desktop or the Recycle Bin folder in Windows Explorer then there MIGHT be a problem.

Tedlaw 10:47 26 Jan 04