recording onto DVD's

mec13 18:13 07 Feb 04

pleases explain to a complete novice (me) what this + or - symbol means on dvd. Having bought a rather high spec computer, with the intention of copying(legally of course)and a carrier bag full of goodies, which included a box of dvd+r(10 disc's)
The machine has 2 cd drives, one states 'DVD rom', the other says 'DVD multi recorder'
The engine bit is athlon 2.6+, 160gb hard drive, radion9200 etc, etc.
I boasted to my Son 'this machine will copy anything son' as we walked out of the shop. my problem is when I put one of these disc'into the copying tray(DVD multi recorder) the machine dosn't see it! My son tells me I've got the wrong type of discs,(what does a 14yr old boy know about computers)
Of course I knew that already,
psst! what does it mean?
keep it simple please.

Jester2K 18:17 07 Feb 04

There are two types of DVD.

DVD + and DVD - Like the old Beta and VHS video wars.....

SirGalahad2004 18:17 07 Feb 04

in simple terms . it's like theold VHS and BETA formats for video recorders .... check with the manual to see wever its D-R or D+R DISC U NEED ....... somm can rite on both formats ..... hope this helps

halfwit 18:21 07 Feb 04

mec 13. The + and - refer to the way it is burnt to the disk. apparently dvd +and - use adifferent wavelength laser but your multi recorder should be able to cope with both.

SirGalahad2004 18:47 07 Feb 04

you your copying softwear have you set it up for the drive you want to write to ?

Brirev 20:35 07 Feb 04

Reading the 1st posting it would seem that we've missed one of the important part of the question: "This will copy anything"!
I'm not sure if there is an easy way to "copy anything" as far as DVDs are concerned!?

Rogerfredo 09:37 08 Feb 04