Record from free sat box to pc??

bunch1980 23:08 20 Oct 09

Newbie here did a search couldnt find what im after. Im after just recording from a free sat box to my pc.
As we cant get a good digital or analogue signal here we have free sat.
so i need a capture card but which one? i havent seen any that have scart input so will need a scart to s-video thingy i guess and some how get audio out to.
Is there a card and software that can do this?

Thanks

Lee.

Stuartli 23:33 20 Oct 09

PC TV related products don't have Scart sockets...:-)

You need a satellite TV card such as:

click here

The software will allow you to make recordings on your hard drive (in similar fashion to PVRs).

I have a five-year-old Twinhan Freeview PCI TV card which offers all the features, via the ShowShifter software I use, of a PVR; the above satellite TV card would work in similar fashion.

You'll need a feed from your satellite dish (you may have to upgrade the LNB).

Stuartli 23:34 20 Oct 09

The alternative, of course, is a Freesat PVR such as one from the Humax range, but would be considerably more expensive.

bunch1980 10:36 21 Oct 09

Thanks Stuart,

Think one you suggested at maplin will not work unless i upgrade the lnb which im not sure i can with out paying sky to, and it says in questions it doesnt work with vista 64bit which is what i have ahh!
I might be best of waiting for a new dvb transmitter to be switched on in our area and see if that improves dvb and then get a normal dvb tv card!
Yeah the other option is to expensive!

Thanks

Lee.

Jim_F 11:15 21 Oct 09

You would need to check but most SCART sockets present composite video and stereo audio so whats needed is an adapter and a capture card a number of which are here: click here