Recommended Wireless Router ?

skidzy 17:50 21 May 06

Good afternoon Forum
Today i have purchased a new laptop from Dell click here
The purchase is the one on the left of the page.

Firstly i didnt pay the asking price,the sales guy knocked off £60.00 and gave me the windows disc and recovery disc thrown in.

Although im pretty confident with computers i have no knowledge of wireless connections.

I would like to know which router will serve me best.The router will be connected to the desktop and i would like it to connect to the new laptop and a further pc in my sons bedroom if possible.
Furthermore is there anything else i need to buy to make these connections possible.

All advice is welcome and very much appreciated.

If i need to provide any further info,please just ask.....i will provide the info as soon as possible.

Thankyou Skidzy

ade.h 17:54 21 May 06

So many people ask this in Networking on a regular basis; I will just make the same suggestions. I will assume that you are an ADSL customer, rather than cable; that you do not have ADSL+; and that you do not stream large multimedia files.

Belkin 7632 (my preference). Linksys WAG354G. 3Com DUA100A.

skidzy 18:01 21 May 06

Hi ade,sorry about posting here...as i spend most of my time here (Helproom) i totally forgot about Networking.

I will look into your suggestions and consider them,thankyou for replying.

skidzy 18:04 21 May 06

Yes i am ADSL with Wanadoo,and basically run my systems as a everyday use for the business and family.Although the new lappy is mine and mine alone...hence no kiddies fingers on it Lol.

No big multimedia files,just the normal downloads..apps,updates etc.

ade.h 18:15 21 May 06