Recommended Firewall for W2K Server?

Gaz W 19:20 18 Jul 04

I have been using Zone Alarm (freeware version) for 2 years on my Windows 2000 Server, but after loads of problems with it (interfering with DHCP/DNS and causing all sorts) I had been considering a change. The final straw was when I downloaded the latest update and it said:

"This Zone Labs product is not intended to protect server operating systems. This may affect our ability to support you. Do you want to proceed with installation?".

I would have clicked Yes, but I thought that if it now detects my OS, it will probably prevent me from receiving future updates anyway.

I realise that the freeware version was never intended for servers anyway, but it has been protecting my network for 2 years - maybe too well!

Obviously I am going to need a good firewall, preferably free or at least very cheap (or dare I say it downloadable and update-able without me having to pay for it until I've tried it - without it being a trial version that probably won't update).

Any suggestions?

MichelleC 19:27 18 Jul 04

Had probs with ZA ages ago and tried Kerio free and never any probs click here so maybe worth a try for server.

Gaz W 19:38 18 Jul 04

Thanks MichelleC - I'll give it a try.

One thing though - I'm assuming I'll need to get ZoneAlarm off before installing Kerio. I can download it still using ZoneAlarm, but there's going to be a long time where I am connected to the net without a firewall, unless it'd be OK for me to switch off my net connection while it's uninstalling & installing the new one.

I remember when I did ZoneAlarm it wouldn't let me connect to the net and the only way around it was to install with the internet connection on, but this meant I got a virus!

Anyway I'll try and sort something out - just wondering if you knew if it'd allow me to have my net connection off!

MichelleC 19:46 18 Jul 04