Realtek onBoard sound problem

Smigga 17:22 14 Dec 05

Please can somebody help!! i was having major problems with my usb ports so i gave it to a technition who gladly fixed it, but in the procces he left my pc with no sound?. At first i thought not a problem cant be that hard to sort and to my horror 1 week on i still cant figure it out!! iv been in my bios and the sip onboard sound is enabled, iv then looked at all the sound settings and none of it is muted. so then i clicked on the conection part of my realtec sound setup and it says speakers attatched correctly. No matter what i do i just cant find the correct thing to get my sound back. PLEASE PLEASE somebody help.

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 17:38 14 Dec 05

Sound setup
click here

wobblymike 17:40 14 Dec 05

could it be as simple as audio cable between cd and mobo missing

Smigga 22:53 14 Dec 05

Guys im sorry im not that technical, all i know is that my ac97 drivers are installed my speakers are connected to the green port in the back of the pc, and the speakers are deffo working as i get a static noise as im putting them into the green connection. But i theink its the realtek setup screen i must be doing something wrong in there

Smigga 22:58 14 Dec 05

sorry i ment the audio configuration screen

Totally-braindead 23:02 14 Dec 05

First thing, double check that the drivers are installed with no exclamation marks, goto Control Panel then System then Hardware then Device Manager and check that everything reads ok. If it does then try reinstalling your sound drivers from your motherboard disk and see what happens.

Smigga 23:11 14 Dec 05