Reading hardrive from old Toshiba

rogerdodger 11:44 08 Nov 03

I have an old Toshiba satalite 1100cs
purchased in 1987 that had cesed to operate and
is not worth repairing. However there is quite a lot of data on the seagate hardrive and I would like to sort through it and download some files.

Any ideas how I would go about it please
thanks in hope

roger

graham√ 11:59 08 Nov 03

Visit Seagate to find the drive, set the jumpers to slave and connect to the PC. With luck, Windows should see it.

graham√ 12:00 08 Nov 03

Forgot click here

Rtus 12:14 08 Nov 03

using an adapter like those found Here >

click here
click here
click here

Rtus 12:17 08 Nov 03

Sorry thought it were a Laptop......

Rtus 12:26 08 Nov 03

thanks for that ,I thought fopr a mo I was on the wrong track....

rogerdodger 05:17 09 Nov 03

typo tosh laptop 1997.
Read replies and thnks to all but
I am not very experienced and dont
fully understand so would anyone please
be able to advise me on the following:
what do I have to find out from seagate
site?

The Seagate hd is about 2.5"x4"and
cased in a metal holder that I presume
is just to attach to the laptop?

Do I have to buy an adaptor to enable a
transfer from small size connection on laptop
hdd to the larger on the pc?

What are the jumpers exactly ?

I have opened the PC up many times to fit memory etc but I am wondering if this is complicated

thanks for your help guys

roger

rogerdodger 08:49 09 Nov 03

Thanks all for your suggestions. Although I have fitted memory etc before I need to know more details before I feel confident so can I ask a few questions about previous posts please:

1.why do I have to visit seagate site
2 hd is 4" x 2.5" and in a metal case which I presume is only to fix in laptop securly?
3.Is the adaptor just to convert smaller connection hd to larger pc hd?
4.Is it simple set the jumpers ?

Thanks in advance for help

Roger

rogerdodger 13:38 09 Nov 03

Thanks a lot,will buy an adaptor online.