Re-Enable Has anyone tried it.

birdface 08:59 02 Sep 10

Hi just came across this and thought that it may be a handy program to use.
As I have never used it before I am just wondering if anyone else has tried it with any success.

click here

johndrew 10:09 02 Sep 10

The User Reviews on the site also give confidence but given that it takes virus type damage to allow you to test it fully it must remain a bit of an unknown until needed in anger.

I shall keep a copy as a 'back pocket' tool and hope I never have the need to use it.

justme 10:26 02 Sep 10

I would much prefer to have a complete copy of the hard disk via acronis or paragon drive backup rather than rely on something like this.

However, if you are in the situation where you need a program like this, it would be worth trying instead of opting for a full reinstallation of the system and all your programs. If it didn't work then you are no worse off.

Woolwell 10:29 02 Sep 10

I'm trying to work out what this provides which is not provided by a rescue disc from an antivirus suite.

MAJ 11:01 02 Sep 10

It could be useful, but for the reason johndrew gave, I haven't tried it yet, I'll give it a go next time someone shouts for help down the phone. It's difficult to beat the Acronis backup. The problem with a lot of viruses is that they disable the use of exe files, so running regedit, cmd, rstrui etc. is difficult unless you rename them. SAS portable in the first instance and then MBAM can remove the virus but, often, not the damage the virus causes to the registry, if that's it's modus operandi. I don't get viruses but I have a registry backup, just to try out, if I do get hit.

birdface 11:05 02 Sep 10

Well just thought that it could come in handy.
As you always have someone asking for advice about getting system restore or other faults working again.
I know I could have done with a program like that when using XP and could not get system restore to work no matter what I tried.