Rate my site, where can I Improve ?

mrperfectpz 21:20 30 Mar 04

Can you have a look at my site, see what you think, and where I can improve things ( I am still learning, so be gentle ! )

I had some good advise about improving things about 2-3 weeks ago and have tried to impliment them. ( Thanks to : whatsupdoc + Taran )

Please take a look click here

barryoneoff.co.uk 23:34 30 Mar 04

on full screen, but sideways scrolling on an 800 window. Also, I don't know if you're on BB, but it takes an eternity to load on dial up.

Good luck, Whiz...

Forum Editor 23:38 30 Mar 04

- all of a hundred years or so ago - I had a maths teacher who knew his subject inside out and backwards. He knew it so well that he had a major failing - he tended to assume that we knew things as well as he did, and as a consequnece he often left us wondering what on earth he was talking about. Ever since I've referred to that as the Jones syndrome (his name was Jones).

Your site suffers from the Jones syndrome as far as I can see. I reckon it might take a casual visitor around a minute or so before he'she realised what the site was all about - there's no reference to the subject matter on the homepage at all. 'Penwithpool' 'ladies pool'and 'county pool' might all be swimming pools - there's nothing to grab the attention and define the content.

A homepage should be a shop window, showcasing the site's purpose and content - so interested visitors can delve deeper, and disinterested ones might be tempted. A picture (or graphic) of a pool-player actually at the table would do it, or a short strapline "The home of eightball pool in West Cornwall". A couple of other points spring to mind:-

1. Once you've identified yourselves it might be an idea to include an 'about us' page - telling people who you are, what your aims are, where you are in terms of exact location ( a map would be good), and how you may be contacted.