RAM control

Jomi 20:04 23 May 03

Are RAM utilities like memturbo and rambooster worth using?
Do they do what it says on the tin?
If they are worthwhile can anyone recommend a good one, free of course, I'm a practising skinflint.

hugh-265156 20:57 23 May 03

have tried most.didnt notice any difference.just another program running in the background.

but your better off keeping your computer tidy ie/clean out the junk disable uneeded start up programs and services.do a weekly defrag,disk clean up and disk check,update you antivirus and run it and keep windows up to date also.

add some more ram 512mb recommended for xp.

ami 20:58 23 May 03

I've been using rambooster for over 2 years now, it does just what it says on the tin. it's configurable to your liking and a great way to 'free-up' a 'locked' programme, just set it running and watch the programme come back to life.

Jomi 21:55 23 May 03

Huggyg71 I do most of those things except disk check, what is that?
It's difficult to keep track of th 'junk' but I try.

I'm using xp with 512mb, but a particular helicopter I use in flightsim 2002 shuts the programme down with an 'out of memory' message.

AMI I might give that a try and see for myself.
Can I get that from CNET?

hugh-265156 22:44 23 May 03

i men`t to say scan the disc for errors-right click C:\properties\tools\errorchecking or chkdsk whatever you want to call it.

in flight sim try going into scenery library and adjusting the cache size also disable some airports you dont fly at a lot.try turning down some of the effects like the number of lighting effects and and dont have anything else running in the background whilst playing.

Jomi 00:16 24 May 03

I ran chkdsk for the first time, vey handy.

Still problems with ram in flightsim though I got a much smoother movement by increasing the paging file. I suppose I'll have to fork out for some more ram.
Trouble is with my new upgraded motherboard there are only two slot with 256mb in each.