question re CPU upgrade for pentium,please help

whizzer111 10:30 31 Mar 08

I'm new to PC's.Purchased a HP Pavillion Athlon 64 phenom a few weeks ago.
I am mainly interested in gaming power (flight simulation especially).It has 3 gig RAM,which i think is more than adequate memory.

The CPU is 2.2 GHZ,not quite fast enough for my liking.

Quesion:I would like to upgrade it to 3GHZ for faster frame rates. I see there are DELL upgrades.Are these okay to install in any PC? Or just DELL? Can i install it myself? Or do i have to have it installed somewhere,such as PC world?
Thanks very much for any help.

DieSse 12:04 31 Mar 08

It might be down to the graphics - what graphics have you got? If you're not sure this will tell you - or give us the exact model number of your system

click here

Also - you can't upgrade an AMD system to an intel processor - it would have to be a faster AMD processor. Still need the system details to advise on that also.

donki 12:20 31 Mar 08

Is quite rite you have an AMD Motherboard so you will need to stay with AMD. IMO your CPU is more than good enouth for gamming and it is more down to your GFX card.

Its my guessing from experience of HP machines that yor GFX card is probably either onboard or a very very poor standard standalone card, either way nowhere near good enough for todays gaming.

Get yourself a 8800GT or GTS and you will be "flying" in no time. Also check the rating of your PSU you dont want it all going bang :).

whizzer111 12:41 01 Apr 08

Thankyou both for your replies.The frame rate is quite fast,indeed.Just that i see some games with '3 ghz recommended' (such as 'space shuttle') that i wish to buy sometime-and flight sim X is apparently very demanding-which i why i plumbed for FS2004.
The graphics card is onboard,and is a 8400GT i believe,256mb.Not bad i think.
Where can i get an AMD processor? Can i install myself? Cheers guys.

donki 12:10 02 Apr 08