Query over home plug connection,

lebjerag 20:42 28 Sep 14
Answered

I want to setup a connection using home plugs, installation says,

connect Ethernet cable to the router then to the home plug and plug it into the wall socket,i understand that,can I use the built in power socket on the home plug for the router plug?,

I cant find any information online as to whether It is ok,i am a complete novice,and, would appreciate any help,thanks.

amonra 21:03 28 Sep 14

It would be advisable to keep the router plugged in to it's own outlet, not "shared" with anything else. If you haven't enough sockets, then try using an extension socket, the type with 4, 6, or more outlets, and plug your different items into it's own socket. This will ensure that if you unplug any item, eg. your printer or sound system, then you won't disturb anything else. The maximum load from most computer related hardware will be well within the 13 amp limit of most extension leads. So, to summarise, plug your router into No, 1, the Home plug into No. 2 and so on. Good luck.

wee eddie 21:16 28 Sep 14

I would not like to disagree with the post above.

However, if your Homeplug is of the pass-through variety, this is specifically designed so that you can plug the Homeplug and Router into the same socket.

I have had such a setup, since transferring to BT Infinity, with a promised speed of between 36-39 Mbps and occasionally get speeds close to 40 Mbps

wee eddie 21:18 28 Sep 14

It is strongly advised not to plug a Homeplug into an Extension Socket

lotvic 22:23 28 Sep 14

"can I use the built in power socket on the home plug for the router plug?"

Yes, that is how mine is set up and working ok.

I am using Homeplug with Router plugged into the Homeplug's pass through socket.

Also as per wee eddie says: it is strongly advised not to plug a Homeplug into an Extension Socket. They can work that way but not ideal - it's a case of try it an see.

lebjerag 20:17 29 Sep 14
Answer

amonra,wee eddie lotvic,