Q6600 Overclock & XMS2 Memory OC Settings Help

Arth010 16:55 20 Feb 10

Hi guys. Hoping someone can help here! I'm pretty new to Overclocking things so don't go too nerdy on me :)

When I originally bought my machine, it was overclocked from 2.4ghz to 3ghz. One fine morning, I was half asleep and somehow managed to undo the overclocked settings and returned to default. As I didn't have the faintest clue how to overclock it again, it's been running at 2.4ghz for a long time now. Recently I started looking back into it and wondered if I could try to get it back to 3ghz again. I read on various forums other people's settings with the same processor+mobo combo and I tried the following to get to 3ghz again:

FSB: 1333
DRAM: Stock 800 (memory unlinked)
MULTIPLIER: x9
VCORE: 1.36v
DRAM: 2.110v
HT: 1.36
NB: 1.36
SB: 1.5

After putting these settings in, I've been running the machine gaming quite happily for about 3 days without issues except for this morning playing WoW it black screened and restarted. However, an interesting thing to note is that I also lowered my fans to medium speed this morning as they're quite noisy in my Antec1200 case.

Obviously random restarts are bad, and I'm wondering if it could be because I lowered the fans down, or because my voltages are too low? or too high? In CPU-Z for example it says my core voltage is 1.312v so would that be too low? or does it have the vdroop thing I've vaguely read about as I set it to 1.36 vcore in the bios? should I set that higher to give it more juice? 1.4v+ vcore?

Also here are my system specs:

Antec 1200 case
Thermaltake Toughpower 700W PSU
Samsung 1TB Serial ATA II 32MB cache
ASUS P5N-D Mobo
Intel Core?2 Quad Q6600 G0 Quad Core 4x2.4GHz 8MB
Coolermaster Hyper TX2 Fan
Corsair XMS2 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 800MHz
BFG NVidia GeForce GTX 280 OC 1GB
Windows Vista SP1 Home Premium (32-bit)