'puter won't power on (I'm not a complete newbie!)

GibsonSt19 13:24 14 Oct 03

My PC's been up and running for some time now, however yesterday the dog walked passed it and shook (as dogs do!) The tiniest amount of saliva landed on the power on button and I thought nothing of it as it was pretty viscous anyway and thought it wouldn't manage to seep around. I dried it up and went for a cuppa, but upon my return the PC was off.

I've tried using a different power lead, thinking a fuse may have gone or summat, but no luck.

I've opened the 'puter up and ensured that all cables are securely in place, however the PC still won't power up at all.

Do you think this is simply a replacement case job, replacement PSU job or a mobo/processor fry up? I hope it's not the last, dear Lord I hope not.

Hope you can help, especially if there are any electropeople out there!

Â ÑÌÇKÑÂMË 13:35 14 Oct 03

This sounds wierd a dogs saliva on pwer button lol,i dont think thta would have caused pc to just
turn off,it not set to stand by or antthin is it? can you turn mains off and start that way ?

Regards.

graham√ 13:37 14 Oct 03

It sounds like some of your dog has gone inside. Check near any vent holes or floppy for signs of arcing. With any luck, it may be just the PSU fuse that's blown.

Take the usual precautions before venturing inside the case.

GibsonSt19 13:40 14 Oct 03

I've tried plugging it in to a few outlets, changed power plug, ensured cables/wires are secure but still nothing whatsoever. I left it happily downloading, returned to find the whole system off and not switchonable :(

Not on standby or anything similar.

goonerbill 13:41 14 Oct 03

doubt very much if a bit of dog spit would cause any problem by landing on the on/off switch (have heard of some strange things with pc's, like a mouse stopping a pc from posting but i digress) sounds as if the psu have gone.