Proxy Server Advice

The Pretender 22:28 06 Apr 03

I have three computers networked, the host on XP Pro is connected to Pipex Broadband, the two clients are on Win98SE. I have been unable to set up ICS successfully so have been using AnalogX proxy server. It doesn't seem very reliable however and seems to keep dropping the connection to the great annoyance of my children.
Can anyone recommend another free proxy server which is easy to configure but which will be more reliable?

LastChip 22:43 06 Apr 03

I doubt your problem is with AnalogX.

I have been using it for in excess of two years with no problems at all.

If you haven't been able to set-up ICS successfully, I would suspect XP Pro as being the culprit. It appears it can be "difficult" in this area.

When you say it "drops the connection", do you mean it disconnects from Pipex and you have to re-connect to the Pipex server? If so, it's more likely to be connected to the network interface or your modem.

The Pretender 23:39 06 Apr 03

The connection with Pipex remains, but the internet connection between the host and the clients is dropped. I sometimes get a message saying that Analog X has developed a problem and has had to close down and do I want to sent a message to MS with details of the problem. I would prefer not to use a proxy server but am unable to sort out ICS.

LastChip 23:50 06 Apr 03

First. If you want to use ICS, you must not have any other "proxy" installed, so you would need to un-install AnalogX.

Personally, I would download AnalogX again, just in case you have a corrupted version, as it is rare for this cracking little program to let anyone down.

However, if you wish to pursue the ICS option, see if this site can help you overcome your problems. It is well written in plain English!click here

A15 23:51 06 Apr 03