Protecting Data on pen drives

goose1984 09:34 18 Apr 05

Hiya all,

I am going to buy a load of 512mb pen drives and have my company logo on them. The question is, is there any way I can stop the user deleting my company information and just using the pen drive for their own personal use.

I have thought about password protecting a folder with all my information in but then that defeats the object because they will need to know the password to access the information. Therefore they could delete the information.

I have also thought about putting the files to read only under the properties but this can be easily changed back.

If anyone knows or could come up with an idea of how to do this please could you let me know

Thankyou

Audeal 11:10 18 Apr 05

goose1984. I am no expert in these things but it did come to mind, when I read your thread, that it might be possible to partition the drive and put your info on this "small" partition and then protect the partition. But as I said, I do not know if this is possible as it is just a thought I had. I am sure someone can tell you if it is possible and how to do it.

Audeal

Belatucadrus 11:43 18 Apr 05

You would need a pen drive with some form of hardware write protection. The problem with this is that they are user controlled, usually a small switch and can easily be reset, allowing the user to reformat the pen and use as required.

" is there any way I can stop the user deleting my company information and just using the pen drive for their own personal use. " not that I'm aware of, I watch this posting with interest to see if anybody knows otherwise.

What exactly are the pen drives to be used for, maybe there is an alternative solution ?

vitrocmax 11:49 18 Apr 05

Maybe you could choose a drive that has a write-protect switch, and use a blob of glue to lock the switch in place?

Audeal 16:52 18 Apr 05