protected while loged off

stevie2times 21:28 23 Oct 05

i was just wondering if when i log out of xp is my pc still protected eg:av,fw.i am still learning as you can proberly tell.but i would like to say this forum is brilliant i would like to say thankyou to all forum members.

stalion 21:35 23 Oct 05

if you are not connected to the internet your computer is still protected if you are working off line.Glad your happy with the best help forum on the net.

Jackcoms 15:54 24 Oct 05

This assumes, of course, that your anti-virus and anti-malware programs have up-to-date definitions.

If they are not up-to-date you are not fully protected.

ade.h 20:21 24 Oct 05

If you log off while a connection is active, you should see a yes/no question - do you want to keep this connection active? Useful if you are switching users, but if you are not, then close it.

stevie2times 21:08 25 Oct 05

when i log off all that happens is it goes to the log on screen it does not ask me any questions is there something wrong with my pc?i have zonealarm firewall sometimes i click stop all internet access and in the morning a dialog box says i have lost my network connection and windows as to repair connection (eg renew ip adress)is this normal.

stevie2times 21:12 25 Oct 05

oh yes i forgot to say i have a allways connected broadband my first question still stands.thankyou!

ade.h 21:20 25 Oct 05

Something wrong with your PC? No, but you need to take a detailed look at your configuration options. Post them here.

ade.h 21:27 25 Oct 05

You need to think of your ADSL line and the connection to your ISP as two distinct things. To the best of my knowledge, no-one has come up with any malware that can establish a connection with a potential host through an ADSL line when you are not connected to the internet. Try viewing a webpage without your ISP connection and you'll see what I mean.