Producing a book - DTP recommendations

johnincrete 04:40 15 Oct 09

I have been using PagePlus for my DTP requirements for many years but now find it not so good for producing a book, specifically in importing over 100 pages from Word and automatically applying different headers on left & right pages - Book title on left, chapter title on right.
Serif support recommends copy & paste, page by page which is ridiculous, particularly as the draft in Word is A4 and the book will be custom size eg like a paper back.
Does anyone use a DTP that would work?

southhead 07:07 15 Oct 09

I’m sure Microsoft Publisher will do all you want. I know for sure that you can paste any amount of text, and Publisher will add sufficient pages to take it. The pages become linked so they behave in the same way as MS Word when any text editing is carried out. Also, I think it will let you have different headers on left and right pages.

johnincrete 11:10 15 Oct 09

If Publisher allows different headers then the feature is well hidden!
There is no help in their help.

LastChip 11:46 15 Oct 09

Have you looked at Open Office?

Some time ago, I was involved here at PCA in evaluating Star Office; the commercial version of Open Office. One of the tasks involved using the "Master Document", which to be honest, is outside of my area of expertise. But those that used it commented on how good it would be for writing large documents - books for example.

Whether this would do what you want, I don't know, but all it's going to cost you is a download and a little time to find out.

Taff™ 13:52 15 Oct 09

The main thing here is to ask the printer who I assume will print the book commercially, what format they would want it in. I don`t know of any commercial printer who can take a document in Publisher and do anything with it without hassle.